Sykes All District 5 Selection 2015

news details

By: Andrew Gavin (@GBGavin)

GREEN BAY, Wis. ( – In advance of Tuesday night’s Horizon League Championship game against Valparaiso, Green Bay senior Keifer Sykes (Chicago, Ill.) found himself in good company on Tuesday afternoon when the U.S. Basketball Writers of America announced the point guard was voted to the All-District V Team for the second-straight season.

District V is comprised of the 48 Division I teams in Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Michigan, Minnesota and Wisconsin. Sykes was joined on the star-studded All-District V Team by seven players from the Big Ten, including Wisconsin’s Frank Kaminsky and Sam Dekker, and Butler’s Kellen Dunham and Notre Dame’s Jerian Grant. Sykes has been the only player from a mid-major conference to land on the All-District V Team in either of the past two seasons.

The two-time Horizon League Player of the Year, Sykes is averaging 18.9 points, 4.5 rebounds, four assists and 1.7 steals per game. The Chicago native reached double figures in 29 of 31 games and scored 500 or more points for the third-straight season. Sykes won three Horizon League Player of the Week honors, extending his league record to 13 in his career.

Sykes has been incredible down the stretch, scoring 87 points in Green Bay’s last three games. On Saturday against UIC in a semifinal of the Horizon League tournament, Sykes scored 23 of his game-high 30 points in the second half to lead the Phoenix to a 70-56 victory.

He recently surpassed 2,000 career points, becoming only the second player in program history to reach that mark. Sykes ranks sixth in league history in scoring (2,068), and with 30 points will move past UIC’s Cedrick Banks into fifth place. The only active player in the country with 2,000 points, 500 assists and 400 rebounds, Sykes is also the only player in the history of the Horizon League to reach those plateaus.

Sykes has helped the Phoenix to a 24-7 record heading into Tuesday night’s championship game. The Phoenix and the Crusaders will tip off at 6 p.m. live nationally on ESPN.

All-District V Team
Branden Dawson, Michigan State
Sam Dekker, Wisconsin
Kellen Dunham, Butler
Yogi Ferrell, Indiana
Jerian Grant, Notre Dame
A.J. Hammons, Purdue
Frank Kaminsky, Wisconsin
D'Angelo Russell, Ohio State
Keifer Sykes, Green Bay
Denzel Valentine, Michigan State

Player of the Year: Frank Kaminsky, Wisconsin
Coach of the Year: Bo Ryan, Wisconsin